Local municipalities planning and zoning

Please consider these quick links as a resource to you in finding information regarding local municipalities in Emmet and Cheboygan counties relative to planning and zoning. Note, information may change and it is best to contact the municipality directly for guidance.

Emmet County administers Zoning for the Townships of Bear Creek, Bliss, Carp Lake, Center, Cross Village, Friendship, Littlefield, Maple River, McKinley, Readmond, Springvale and Wawatam.

The Townships of Little Traverse, Pleasantview, Resort and West Traverse administer separate Zoning Ordinances, as well as all incorporated areas within Emmet County, which include the Villages of Alanson, Mackinaw City and Pellston, and the Cities of Harbor Springs and Petoskey.

Emmet County Planning and Zoning

Emmet County Zoning Ordinance

Emmet County Zoning Map

Little Traverse Township
Little Traverse Township Zoning Ordinance

Pleasantview Township
Pleasantview Township Zoning Ordinance

Resort Township
Resort Township Zoning Ordinance

West Traverse Township
West Traverse Township Zoning Ordinance

Village of Alanson
Village of Alanson Zoning Ordinance

Village of Mackinaw City
Village of Mackinaw City Zoning Ordinance

Village of Pellston

City of Harbor Springs
City of Harbor Springs Zoning Code

City of Petoskey
City of Petoskey Zoning Ordinance

The Cheboygan County Planning & Zoning Department excludes the City of Cheboygan, Burt Township, and the Villages of Mackinaw City and Wolverine.

Cheboygan County Planning and Zoning

Cheboygan County Zoning Ordinance

Cheboygan County Zoning Map

Cheboygan County Interactive Zoning Map

Burt Township
Burt Township Zoning Ordinance

Village of Mackinaw City (see above)

Village of Wolverine